[vb_main_1]

First sewing machine

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

First sewing machine

Hi- I am new to quilting and am enjoying it so far. To this point I have hand peiced a top and will go to my LQS to quilt it on a long arm machine (I am in a hurry to see what it is like done- I will figure out hand quilting at some point). I am thinking about getting a sewing machine. I do no other sewing. Any suggestions on where to start? Am I best off with a basic machine until I know what I am doing or with a better machine? Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks

Lisa

from the beautiful Hudson Valley of NY
    Gammill Classic Plus w/IQ

Welcome to our sewing world! Really the first thing you need to decide is what your budget is for the sewing machine. You could fall over at some of the prices. Many, many years ago (35) my mom gave me a Viking for graduation and it lasted ten years, then I went through two Berninas and now I have a Janome 6500. but with my job I really put the peddle to the metal.

Basic is not a bad thing to get used to the process. You could find a very basic machine at reasonable prices, but I would recommend going to a dealer and not necessarily a fabric shop (i.e. Jo-Ann's) because if something goes wrong they just send it away. At a dealer at least he can fix it or give you lessons.

Good luck, let us know what you decide. Sound like you are doing fine with what you are using now.

Sharon in NE Colorado - beautiful blue sky day

Comment

Couple of suggestions: don't buy a machine from somewhere like Walmart or Sears where there is no one to help you learn how to use it or with problems. A good idea is to buy one that can be traded in on a better one later. I think Brother does this as does Viking. Be sure and buy from someone who gives you all the free lessons you need to learn all your machine can do.