[vb_main_1]

Bernina 570QE vs Pfaff QE720

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bernina 570QE vs Pfaff QE720

I'm fairly new to quilting and basic clothing sewing. On my second round of projects so I'm not familiar with all the features these machines (or any) offer. So far I've been sewing on various borrowed machines but want to purchase my own. These are the two models I'm looking at. From reading other forums folks either prefer Pfaff or Bernina. Since I'm relatively new I have no preference on way or the other. I'll learn whichever brand I buy. I'll be making a trip to the store to sew on each of these but really since I'm a beginner that may offer limited insight. Any recommendation or advice between these two machines; which would you choose?

Hi, I see others have read your question but no answers yet

I don't know about these particular machines you mentioned. both brands are very good, as are Janome, Babylock (and brother made in the same factory as Babylock). Other brands like Viking are probably good too, I just know nothing about them.

The most important things are (1) find a good dealer who can support you in your sewing adventures and (2) Find a machine that meets your needs plus a bit more, that is comfortable for you to sew on. Really sit down and work with your chosen machines, bring your own fabric, try threading the machine, selecting stitches, changing presser feet, how easy is the quarter inch foot to use and how accurate is it? How good is the lighting. If you need a free arm, does the machine have that feature? How easy is it to use? Does the machine come with a foot that you can use for free motion quilting, if you want to do that? Are the feet and accessories expensive? Can the dealer service it there? My current machine can do 1.8, 2.0, and 2.5 mm stitch lengths but nothing in between. Previous machines could do 2.2mm which I prefer. But, this wasn't a deal breaker... I just got used to it.