[vb_main_1]

Diabetic Neuropathy and the Foot Pedal

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Diabetic Neuropathy and the Foot Pedal

I have a sit-down mid-arm and love using it but am discovering my neuropathy can impair my judgement on when my foot actually touches the pedal so I can control my start-up speed. I have found even finding the pedal difficult sometimes so have engineers a pretty unsophisticated method of building a "fence" the width of the pedal on a 2x4 place just in front of pedal so I know when I've reached it and can then just scootch my foot forward until i'm over it. Then it's just guesswork about how hard I'm pressing.

I'm thankful I only have numbness and no pain with this condition as I know it can be really tough.....

Ideas?

Lynn in TX

Lynn, in the last week or two on another topic, Sue mentioned that she sets her mid-arm speed at 20 percent, then pushes the pedal to the floor and that works for her. I'm new to my sit-down, and remembering Sue's comments, I set my machine today at 30 percent, and basically put the heel of my foot on the pedal because that worked well with the height of my chair and the height of my table. It worked like a charm. I tested it on a little quilt sandwich so I could get the feel of what it would be like doing the filler I thought I'd try, and to test my tension. I finished the wall hanging in no time thanks to Sue's advice! Maybe that would work for you. Prior to doing this, I would get a little (OK, a LOT) frustrated because I couldn't get my hands and needle speed to cooperate with each other!

Comment

My foot would really start to ache before I played around with how far the foot pedal was from my chair & how I was holding my foot (sometimes, heel up in the air.) For what it's worth, sometimes I'm at 12 to 15%, but my foot is really resting on the pedal.

Hope you figure this out, Lynn! Quilting isn't supposed to hurt, right?

Comment