[vb_main_1]

Thread Color Issue

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thread Color Issue

I'm fairly new to thread painting and using water soluble stabilizers, having only done a couple of blocks so far. But I have a concern and was hoping to hear from those of you with lots of experience so that I can resolve a question that is bothering me.

When I did my first thread painting, I used all cotton embroidery threads (I wanted a matte appearance) by Mettler, and marked the stitching areas on my stabilizer with one of those ultra-fine point Sharpie pens that the quilt artists on some of the TQS shows recommend. Some of the colors that I used were very light, and after I soaked the stabilizer off, the pen (at least I think it was the pen) discolored the thread, changing it from two different shades of pale pink to a grey. Afterwards, just to test the effects of my marking tools on the cotton thread, I did a test. Only the blue ink markers that either air or water removes left the color intact after soaking to remove the stabilizer. I also now have a Sewline marking pencil that uses ceramic leads that's washable, which I am assuming would not change the color.

When I did my second thread painting piece this week, I used Madeira rayon embroidery threads on a different brand of water soluble stabilizer that had been printed on a computer printer by a wonderful instructor (I took a class last month). She told me that she'd never experienced the color changing from the ink on the stabilizer. When I soaked the piece to remove the stabilizer, the lighter colors changed, and again "greyed" out on me. Needless to say, I was disappointed to have my work change like that, and have all of that beautiful color disappear. It did not effect the darker colors even a tiny bit, by the way.