[vb_main_1]

What do I do with the thread ends?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

What do I do with the thread ends?

I have been quilting for 8 years, but realizing that I don't know the best technique for the loose threads (either the ones that I start with, or the ones that I end with) from the machine quilting on my quilts. I generally leave 4+ inches on the tails, bring them to the back of the quilt and then tie them in a knot to hold them........ but I am not sure if that is the best thing to do since the knots to show (especially when the thread is a different color than the backing).

Any advice on better methods for securing the threads?

Thanks so much!

Mary Kay

Bury 'em like when you're hand quilting?

Comment

On one of the shows, Ricky showed us how to get rid of all those threads while quilting. Can't remember which one, but I know it helped me keep the back of the quilt looking great. Jan

Comment

Mary Kay, you might want to take a look at Sharon Schamber's video about TYING AND HIDING THREAD KNOTS in the FREE AREA of her web site:

http://sharonschambernetwork.com/fre...ots/index.html

It's Not What You Gather, But What You Scatter
        That Tells What Kind Of Life You Have Lived !

Comment

The easiest method is to take 1/4" or so of very small stitches at the beginning and ending of your stitching line. These won't pull out in average use & washing. The slippery new polyester threads might not hold as well as regular cotton.

For a nicer finish, make a small knot of the two loose ends (on top of the quilt), then bury the knot & loose ends inside the quilt. When I do this, I use one of those "self-threading" needles -- you don't need to get your threads through the eye, just pop them in thru the little slot.

I've been told that burying thread ends is the way to go if you're entering competitions; but, I've seen blue ribbons on quilts that used the tiny-stitching method, too.

Comment