[vb_main_1]

Hand quilting over seams...

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hand quilting over seams...

I'm new to hand quilting...I have hand quilted on a few practice projects to improve my stitches and test batting, thread, etc. I have also completed one 12 x 12 hand pieced block that I then hand quilted.

I am just starting into my first "real" hand quilting project....a wall hanging about 30x40. I hand pieced the top and now I've started my hand quilting :lol: I love the process! However I'm having a impossible time with the rocking stitch over the seams and have gone to needle down, pull through, needle up, pull through.

Should I be able to use the rocking stitch at all time, even over the seams? Or should I have prepared my top differently for hand quilting, like maybe pressing all seams open (to limit bulk)? Or maybe all is well and that is how it is done?

Any advice would be great.... :?

https://bbquiltmaker.blogspot.com
    North Alabama, USA
    "I am a part of all that I have met" A. Lord Tennyson

Ditto.

Comment

My advice is don't even try to do the rocking stitch over the seams - just do the stab up and down through the seam, but try, try to make the stab stitches the same size and distance apart as your rocking stitches. They're going to look a little funny to you because they're going to "sit" on top of the fabric more, but after you've practiced a bit, they'll get better.

When I can, I plan my quilting to avoid corners where multiple seams come together - when I can't I just remember that people aren't going to examine the quilt with a magnifying glass and when I step back and look at the entire quilt I'm usually satisfied that I did my best.

Comment

Thank you so much for the advice.....I'm surely not trying for show quality at this time, but I would like the quilting to be the best it can be at my current level of experience. Plus I don't want to practice BAD HABITS, I'm always looking to see if there is a better or easier way.