[vb_main_1]

thread painting trees

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

thread painting trees

I am just starting to dabble in art quilting and am trying to teach myself. I have my landscape done and now I need to start thread painting. I am doing a mountain scene and I want to do the trees which I thought was done with a zigzag free motion technique but I'm having a hard time figuring out how to do it. The area I am trying to do is on the mountain tops in the distance. When I try doing a freemotion zigzag, I am finding that the thread is pulling the fabric into ridges, I have loosened my upper tension to a very low number, but I just can't seem to get it. Any tips? or what am I doing wrong??
    From the edge of Sherwood Forest, home of Robin Hood

YOu need a stabilizer. Are you thread painting as part of the quilting, or before layering the quilt? I'm not an expert at thread painting, but have done a little. I like to use Ricky's Stable Stuff as a stabilizer because it softens with washing and just adds a little more "batting" to that area. If you're doing it as part of the quilting, the batt and back should act as stabilizer.
    I prefer to thread paint before quilting, because quilting mashes the fabric down where it is quilted, and I want my thread painting to pop out, not be mashed down.
    Hope this helps.
    From the edge of Sherwood Forest, home of Robin Hood

Comment

Laura, You might need a hoop as well as a stabilizer. For some hints you might want look at Libby Lehman's Threadplay and Nancy Prince's website (which has some free videos and hints) http://www.nancyprince.com/

I'm not an expert either but I have dabbled in this and found I had to have both stabilizers and a hoop. It's loads of fun.

"Neglect not the gift that is within you..." -1 Timothy 4:14

Comment