[vb_main_1]

New machine, tension problems

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

New machine, tension problems

I am a beginner at free motion quilting. A 40 weight cotton thread in the bobbin and top requires the tension on my new computerized Viking opal on top to be a 0 and even then you can see the bobbin thread on top. Unfortunately I chose a variegated cotton thread for the border on a small wall quilt and the material is a blue and purple checked batik. The variegations runs from purple to blue to light green. I put a blue cotton thread on the bottom so it doesn't show on top that much. Then on a sample, :woohoo: I used 40 wt poly thread on the top and bottom and it looked the best I've been able to do so far. I did change the needle but I am not sure if it's a 90 topstitch or quilting needle. Any insights as to what to do?
    Geneva

Hi,
    I recommend that you go to the "Watch" tab at the top of the TQS page, select "Featured Guest DVD's" and watch "Lessons in Free-Motion Quilting,"

Free-motion quilting requires practice, practice, practice. Make some sample quilt sandwiches and practice a little every day, if possible.
    Before stitching on your good project, always test your free motion stitching on a sample made up of the same quilting materials as the ones in the project you will be using, to resolve any thread, tension, stitch problems before stitching on your actual project.
    You can do it!

Judy

Comment

I don't normally use the 40 weight thread in the bottom, usually I use a lighter 50 weight like Aurifil, or even lighter like 60 weight superior so fine in the bobbin. That might be part of what's happening- the heavier cotton thread will pull too much. The reason that the 40 weight polyester thread works better is that it's probably somewhat thinner and also less "linty".