[vb_main_1]

Decorative stitching on binding

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Decorative stitching on binding

Does anyone out there have experience adding decorative stitches to a binding? My current quilt needs a fancier binding (it also has piping) but I've never done this before. I imagine I will have to starch it rather than use a stabilizer but do I do my stitching before or after it's been folded.
    If you've got some helpful hints, I'd love to hear them. Thanks.

I sometimes use one of my decorative stitches on my Janome to sew down the binding. But that doesn't sound like what you want. I have twice used the binding as my label, using my monogram stitches. In that case, I used lightweight stablizer half the width of the binding. I'll see if I can find the tutorial I found for that.

edited to add link: http://www.quiltingboard.com/tutoria...g-t220751.html Maybe this will give you an idea.
    Carol in SW Michigan

Comment

Robin, the 2013 BOM used decorative stitching for the binding. This is what Sue Nickels did:

Sue starched her fabric, stitched the decorative lines then added the binding with a SINGLE fold technique, rather than the double fold that we usually use.

It's Not What You Gather, But What You Scatter
      That Tells What Kind Of Life You Have Lived !

Comment

Thanks to you both for the good advice. For some reason, this seems like a giant cliff I'm a little leery of jumping off. I am pleased with this particular quilt, which will be entered in a couple of contests, and I just do not want to ruin it by messing up the binding.

Comment

Hi Robin