[vb_main_1]

MACHINE QUILTING ON BRIGHT COLORS ????

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

MACHINE QUILTING ON BRIGHT COLORS ????

OKAY KK is ready for quilting... does anyone have an idea of what color of thread I can use on my BRIGHT - multi color fabrics. I do not like invisible thread... I am considering metallic since it is a wall hanging but NOT SURE since there are no mettallic fabric in this quilt.

Suggestions ARE APPRECIATED, since I have not made a quilt like this before... I am not sure what I should use. I figure those of you who long arm or experienced domestic machine quilters might have some ideas.

I am taking scraps of fabric and practicing machine quilting on this to get an idea of what would look good on this. I will make practice batts to test some ideas. I have very few threads to choose from because I am just learning to machine quilt and I am not sure what will look good.

THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Lady Rags

Jules~

@julesquilts on IG 
    working farm wife and quilter in the off-seasons
    Tired. 
    Modern quilter, QOV volunteer, Improv, FPP w/o stitching on paper, freehand quilting on my long-arm.
    Bernina Artista 200E, Elna Serger, Handi Quilter Fusion, a lot of old Singers and other vintage and antique machines.

Anna, just remember that if you decide to use colored thread that contrasts with your fabric, every little bobble will show up, and with your light values right next to your dark values it's going to be impossible to use one thread that will blend with both! For that pretty blue background, I would definitely use a tone on tone blue variegated. Maybe King Tut Mirage?

It's Not What You Gather, But What You Scatter
    That Tells What Kind Of Life You Have Lived !

Comment

Bottom Line in your bobbin works really well as well (that sounded weird). I think both King Tut and Bottom Line are from Superior Threads.

Comment